Home > Miguel Iturria Savón > Ethics Lesson

Ethics Lesson

The storyteller Ángel Santiesteban, whose blog won the Best Literary Blog of Cuba prize in the Virtual Island Contest, reopened last December, “The Children Nobody Wanted” in Blogspot.com, after the closing of the portal Encuentro en la Red (Meeting on the Web).

One of his latest entries was considered the most complete chronicle about the protest that happened last October 22 in the Superior Institute of Art, located in Playa, Havana, where the young creators channeled their disgust with the bad conditions at the center in a video posted on the Internet.

Following the success of the I.S.A, Ángel Santiesteban published a post of great ethical and literary value in which he defended the right to blog against the fears of our intellectual censorship, so cautious and feigned.

As Ángel’s text has been ignored by the official press, the friends of the writer are spreading it through flash memory and other media. To contribute to that lesson of principles, I am commenting on some of the author’s points.

  • My writer friends tell me that to do a blog is to do politics, that I must confine myself to literature… to survive with the status of a writer. That walking around on the Internet is a way to lead myself into the swamp, evasive, illegal, free-willed, to turn into a wild animal.
  • My creator friends think that to publish what you think is to be involved in politics. They assure me that my books denounce more than an opposition political party…
  • My literary friends create conflicts in me: I do not want to do politics… But how to gag my mouth?… Silence the spontaneous scream?…

Ángel speaks of the reality hidden in secret; of his literary friends who recently published, re-editing their books, serving on juries for prizes they never won, applauding when the news cameras are near and traveling to the Book Fairs of distant countries.

He comments that his erudite friends counsel him to stay silent, let them marginalize him for his rebellious literature, show gratitude, ask for forgiveness and support the work of the officials, a kind of complicity and cynicism that protects the writer, as “they have done to protect their own existence.”

The storyteller who blogs as a spectator and critic admires his learned friends and accepts them as they are, but claims not to possess “their capacity to remain silent” nor “their resistance to withstand the silence.” He warns that, “At times I envy the, because only I know the perks I reject, and in exchange all the contempt I receive.”

The post placed on his blog by Ángel Santiesteban is a testimony of ethical reaffirmation in the face of the opportunism of the creators who applaud and feign. Thank you Ángel for shaking off the masks of those who counsel prudence in the dance of official culture.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

