Home > Miguel Iturria Savón > The Dead of Mazorra

The Dead of Mazorra

dsc03983-640x4802

Circulating on the internet for days now are some images that illustrate the deaths of the mentally ill at Mazorra Hospital, the main mental hospital in Havana. The incident occurred between early January and late January. The cold, hunger and abuse claimed more than thirty victims within a few days.

I was there in September 2009. I visited a friend’s brother who survived the disaster. Now I can sympathize. I was horrified that the hospital was without windows.  It had outdoor showers and patients were starved and ill-clothed, which makes one think of the antechamber of hell.

To the dead and their families I express my regrets. I enclose two pictures which I hope will illustrate the chaos of our health system.

  1. CARPIO
    November 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    que clase de descarao son los hijos de putas esos, todo para ellos y para los pobres enfermos ni cojone, ME CAGON LOS HERMANOS CASTRO Y SUS PERROS COMUNISTAS

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

